Relationships are like Blankets: Monday Motivation #34

This Saturday I hung out with the Girl Scouts and made no-sew blankets for the Valley Hospital NICU.  The little crafty-mom in me came alive for a few hours and I delighted in producing something so useful for those babies.

While I worked, I considered the beauty of such a thing.

Blankets.

Blankets are such a symbol of love and caring.  We swaddle our babies in them, tuck our kids in at night with them, wrap ourselves in them and shuffle around the house when we’re sick, we cuddle beneath them with our loved ones, hell, someone even had the brilliant idea of commercializing them into weird pajamas too.

These particular blankets were made of the softest fleece; my fingers delighted in holding, tugging, twisting, tying and flattening the material over and over again.  There was comfort there – even in a room full of people; it was at once a community event yet something I could personally experience as well.

No Sew.

The fact that the blankets were no-sew made them simple and yet still somewhat time consuming – still a labor of love.

As I tied each knot making my way around the edges of the blanket, I felt like I was stitching together something that would become uniquely my product– something unlike anyone else was making – something that would be special.

And it brought to mind how we each stitch our lives together – the way relationships are the stitching together of 2 people even while the two remain separate individuals. These blankets were two pieces of fleece, placed back to back (or front to front?) and then tied all around the edges, complimenting one another while remaining two distinct swatches of soft fluffy fleece.

Together they function better than they did alone, more beautiful to behold and warmer too – yet alone they’re also lovely.

My final blanket had soccer balls on one side while the other side was a white so soft and bright that it might have been untouched driven snow silently blanketing a neighborhood on Christmas Eve.

One side had soccer balls while the other side was a white so soft and bright that it might have been untouched driven snow silently blanketing a neighborhood on Christmas Eve

One side had soccer balls. The other side was a white so soft and bright that it might have been untouched driven snow

Together they made for a lovely thick comforter two and a half by three feet.

I imagine a tiny little premie wrapped in it, soccer side out, snow side in; he’s three months old and just reaching five pounds.  His mother will say a little prayer of thanks as she tucks the blanket around him and they make their way to the car for the very first time; he’s finally headed home and my blanket twins, tied to each other and now swaddling him, will work together to bring him warmth and fleecy comfort.

I think that’s what relationships are about – what friendships are like: warmth and fleecy comfort.

I’d love your thoughts and comments.  What kind of thoughts do baby blankets bring to mind for you? Tell me about a time when you made something crafty that felt amazing for your heart long before you ever gifted it.

Exalted Peacock Logo

Tags: , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

11 responses to “Relationships are like Blankets: Monday Motivation #34”

  1. Joshua Macala says :

    The best relationships are like this. As safe as a suit of armor, as warm as a blanket, and stronger than steel. As one’s life gets wrapped up in the others’ you both grow, in tolerance, love, different viewpoints, knowledge. Every relationship in this fashion is both similar and unique. How these two individuals form their bond and what life experiences they share temper that friendship. I have had the lucky opportunity in life to have several such friendships. I am happy to say that I am looking forward to the years ahead with my more recent friendship that near and dear to my heart.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      I like the thought of friendships as all three of those things: protective, warm, and supportive. Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. Stephanie @ From the Burbs to the Boonies says :

    Now that is a beautiful thought, one of the best I’ve heard in awhile 🙂 Your most treasured relationships you should wrap around you, snuggle into, they get softer and more comforting with time.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Stephanie, thanks so much for stopping by. Time is definitely a factor for both blankets and bonded relationships. My daughter has loved her baby blanket quite literally to pieces. I expect that when I’m old and grey, she loves me to pieces too

  3. misssrobin says :

    Beautiful analogy. What a great thing to be a part of. Thanks for sharing your story. Now I can’t wait for it to be cool enough to snuggle under blankets.

    Happy Sharefest. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

  4. Tiffany says :

    This was such a beautiful project for your Girls. I’m a new troop leader and this would be an awesome project (and I’m by no means a craft-mom…lol).

    I also can relate to your take on how meaningful a blanket can be. We save a special blanket (or 2) for each of our Kiddies from birth. They know it was their’s when they were born and they each love it as if it were a best friend. When I was pregnant I picked the one that I felt would be ‘the one’ out very carefully and always picked the softest comfiest one I could find.

    There truly is ‘comfort’ in a blanket…

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Tiffany –
      thank so much for stopping by 🙂
      Being a troop leader will be a joy for you and a way to give back to girls; they need mentorship and guidance from so many adults – “it takes a village”
      For my two ids, I also saved a blanket in their baby box as a reminder of when they were tiny – and these blankets would be perfect for that.

  5. Samantha says :

    Such a wonderful post, and an equally wonderful task. So many premature babies cannot be touched for various reasons, and a blanket is the perfect substitute relationship while they are fighting to get better and have human contact. Amazing!
    Showing luv from the SITSSharefest! http://4insanewives@blogspot.com

  6. Mo at Mocadeaux says :

    Beautiful analogy. Friendships as warm fleecy blankets – brilliant. I’ve never thought about the fact that blankets are called comforters and they wrap you in comfort! A concept that is so obvious it eluded me! Hats off to you and your troop for making blankets for the babies. What a great project!

Leave a Reply

