10,000 Worries? 10,000 Possibilities: Monday Motivation #33

Alan Watts is such a brilliant man.

Today, I want to take a minute to reflect on how amazingly powerful each one of us, simply because we exist.

The Real You

I saw this video this week and it really struck me with how much we contemplate things that are completely irrelevant to our existence.

Specifically in this video one of the things Alan talks about is the fear of “dying and putting up with everlasting non-existence… being locked up in a dark room forever” and yet the truth is that this isn’t an experience.

Literally, there is no conscious way of having that experience; I love how he describes it:

“Imagine going to sleep and never waking up.”

Well, the truth is that when I’m asleep, my wakefulness is not something I’m aware of nor looking forward to or searching for.  It either happens or it doesn’t.  And if it doesn’t happen, if I don’t wake up, I’ll never know that because I’ll no longer be alive.

Mind Blown.

What’s better, though was what happened after that.  Watching that video stretched me to another mental place:

What about all of those things I’ve worried about all these years?

In my decades since I became old enough to worry about stuff (let’s say somewhere around puberty) – so in those three decades, I have worried, fretted over, planned for, made what if scenarios and then took preventative measures or made ‘emergency plans’ for scenarios that never came to pass.

Thousands of them.

Maybe even tens of thousands.

I have spent hours, days, weeks … and so much effort in trying to prevent things from happening to me or from becoming a part of my existence. How could that time have been better spent?  What if instead I put that amount of time and effort planning for all the lovely things that might happen to me?  (Starting to feel tiny tingles at the thought). What if I made a ‘what-if plan’ for the day I might meet the queen of England? The day Oprah invites me onto one of her many shows? The day I go see my son perform his comedy routine in front of tens of thousands of fans? The time when I live in or near Venice, Italy as a best-selling author and take my morning cappuccino in the shade of an old oak sitting at a café table outside my neighborhood pasticceria?

“When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

Wayne Dyer once said that.

Brilliant.  Just like Alan Watts.

Just like me.

Just like you.

Exalted Peacock Logo
Tags: , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

11 responses to “10,000 Worries? 10,000 Possibilities: Monday Motivation #33”

  1. Keri Kight says :

    The video is so inspirational, and beautiful. Your life changes when you start thinking about what you really want, rather than what’s bothering you. About a year ago is when I completely switched gears and starting living a life worth living, rather than a life full or regret and sorrow.

    We really have so much to bring to this world, to offer to others, and so many different ways to bring happiness to ourselves. Life is truly amazing. Life is glorious once you wake up and realize it.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Keri, it’s so true that your entire life completely swivels when you change your perspective. I love knowing that all I need to do is focus on different things in order for my life to be better. That Wayne Dyer quote is a great one to help affirm the concept and remind me to quit dwelling/wallowing whenever I start down that road.

      Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Momma O says :

    The video didn’t open for me – but your words ring so true. I have spent countless YEARS of my life worrying about things I had no control over all because I wasn’t looking at things from the right lens. I try to be more positive these days and it really makes the worrying cease a bit. Not totally – but a good bit!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Momma O,,
      Thanks so much for stopping by,(and I’ll check on that video). I am so glad that you too can find relief from that negative spiral. Any technique that works for you is a good one, I say …so if mine helped,, then bravo.
      Heather

  3. misssrobin says :

    Lots to think about in this one. I’ll have to chew on it for a while. Thanks for helping me stretch my thoughts.

    Happy Sharefest. I hope you have a great weekend.

  4. Rabia @TheLiebers says :

    Such a great perspective on life. So much depends on the way we look at things. A positive outlook can really turn things around!

  5. Mo at Mocadeaux says :

    I stopped by here from Sharefest right after reading #2 on the list from “Encouraging Words from an Insane Wife”. It’s like you two were writing chapters in the same book. The Wayne Dyer quote is so appropriate in every aspect of our lives from our personal development to how we look at/react to our significant other. Very powerful words!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Thanks so much for stopping by. Even if the blog is a reminder to those who already think positively, I feel like it’s worth writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

