Philharmonic Friday: Girl on Fire

Girl on Fire

I try to live in gratitude for those things that come into my life at precisely the right time.   This week was such an amazing one full of positive powerful happy experiences. it is definitely a time for humble appreciation for the life I lead and the friends I have.

I am overwhelmed with hopefulness and inspiration.

The best thing that happened this week was the time I spent with a friend doing writing exercises.
It was an evening spent in such a safe creative environment.
And in those moments spent with an amazingly talented woman, I was at once in awe and inspired.

The inspiration I received that night propelled me forward on this runaway train of work.  Since that night, I have been fully engaged in my fantasy story again – storyboarding and plotting and character mapping and working around the clock – staying up until the sun taps me on the shoulder at daybreak.

There is a song that is the perfect fit for this moment but before I reveal it (as if the title of this post wasn’t a dead giveaway), I want to be very clear about something:

Being happy for yourself and clapping yourself on the back is absolutely fine.

In fact, I HIGHLY encourage it.

It elevates your joy or other positive emotions and self image to a level that keeps the feeling alive so much longer.

Alicia Keyes herself said this at the iTunes festival in 2012 before she sang this song: “I’ve been pouring myself into this music … and I’m feeling like a kid in a candy store…”

I chose this version of the video for that reason – she’s such a great example of being proud and simultaneously humble.

So yes, this song is about me this week – and I hope that it is also about you.

“Decide to step into your full self and don’t let anybody hold you back.”

So that together we can be:

GIRLS ON FIRE!

Exalted Peacock Logo
Tags: , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

5 responses to “Philharmonic Friday: Girl on Fire”

  1. Joanne Viola says :

    How wonderful that your creativity had a boost. And great that you had a friend to do the exercises together with. May you keep on with your writing. I am visiting this morning from the SITS 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Joanne

  2. grownandflown says :

    I love Alicia Keys and this song is a perfect anthem describing your powerful feelings. Keep at it and good luck.
    Over from Sharefest

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      THANKS so much for stopping by. 🙂 hopefully some of those powerful feelings rubbed off on you too 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Give self esteem a boost in just five minutes |... - August 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

