Heart on Your Sleeve – Monday Motivation #27

Window Shopping

So, I was at the mall the other day and I saw this mannequin in a store window.

It was headless, alabaster and shoeless, despite the apparent lack of pop-culture-beauty.

But it was so inspiring that I snapped a photo.

It reminded me of an idiom about someone wearing their heart on their sleeve, showing how they feel in a way that’s obvious to others.

Haggling

And that got me thinking:

Why is it that so often, people feel like wearing your heart on your sleeve is such a bad thing?

Margaret Thatcher actually once said: “To wear your heart on your sleeve isn’t a very good plan; you should wear it inside, where it functions best.”

Ugh.

Too often, we often hide away our emotions in fear of having our hearts broken.  Afraid to reveal our true feelings, we decide to shrink them into little insignificant things.

What?  This old rag?”

(says the woman who spent an entire day and far too much  money on her outfit)

Many times, we publicly give our feelings the same dismissive “old rag” attitude.

I rebuke the concept that my feelings should be a secret; I believe sharing them is precisely what connects us to one another – and makes us feel bonded.

Instead, when it comes to wearing shirts, if they have great emotions on their sleeves (or collars or chests or backs), I’M IN!

20130718_300X259And that goes double if the message is this one:

Self-love on display

Wearing a shirt with a huge:

I ❤ ME!

emblazoned across the chest is such an amazing message to the world but also to yourself.

 Every time you look in the mirror, you’ll be reminded of your worthiness, your positive self-image … your self-love.

Why not announce it to the world?
Wear it on your chest?
Or as Kevin Hart might say:

“Say it with your chest!”

Checking Out

I think hiding away your feelings – ESPECIALLY when they are positive feelings about yourself – takes away the value of the emotions themselves.

And in the case of self-love, it diminishes the value of YOU.

You’re far too important to try to seem smaller than you really are.

I didn’t buy the shirt that day (I spent far too much on other necessities), but I came away with a phenomena message that resonates even now.

“Check you out,” the message says, “you are pretty damned amazing.”

I go to the mirror and check myself out.

Smiling, I wink at my reflection and I say

“I LOVE ME!”

Exalted Peacock LogoI’d love your thoughts and comments. What makes you feel the most joyful about the person you are? When do you notice it?  And what techniques do you use to hold onto that feeling for as long as possible?

If you liked this post, you may also like: Beyond the Looking Glass, Corduroys Equal Love, or My Funny Valentine.

Tags: , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

10 responses to “Heart on Your Sleeve – Monday Motivation #27”

  1. Cherie @ incherieswords.com says :

    I feel good and joyful when I help others around me. I have a habit of thinking of others before myself. But it always makes me happy. My husband has to remind me at times, to do something for myself, or buy something for myself but it doesn’t bring me joy as much as doing it for others. If its baking or volunteering, it doesn’t matter. It makes me happy.
    Thanks for making me think about this one. 🙂

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Cherie,

      I do love seeing someone else’s face light up and knowing it’s “all my fault.” 🙂 thanks so much for reminding me of those moments.

  2. Jenn @ Party of One says :

    What a great post! I’m stopping by from SITS Sharefest & I’m so glad that I did. This is so encouraging! Thanks for reminding me that I deserve/need to love myself AND that I hiding feelings isn’t necessary. It’s not bad to be an emotional, sensitive and caring person- especially when it’s about myself.

    THANK YOU for a fabulous post!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      You captured what this post is about and did it perfectly 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Jenn, and for the compliments. Happy sharefest

  3. Tracie says :

    I am far too often guilty of that “this old rag” speaking and thinking.

    An I ❤ Myself shirt is needed.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Tracie, “this old rag” thinking is more common than you may think…you aren’t alone. I feel like self esteem needs a deliberate watchdog consistently guarding three gates of self talk and biting “this old rag” thinking on the jugular 🙂

      I use affirmations and deliberate POSITIVE self talk to help keep my confidence up. What do you use to overcome negative self talk?

  4. Leah Davidson says :

    Wearing your heart on your sleeves allows you to be vulnerable which can be scary – but really the only way to deepen so many relationships. It’s hard to do sometimes, but so worth it!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Leah, the “worth it” part is exactly why I muscle through and deliberately decide to be vulnerable.

      Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

  5. Jennice says :

    I dp wear my heart on my sleeve and I used to think it made me weak but only the ballsy people wear their heart on their sleeve. I’m very sensitive and I love that about me!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      I do agree that having the courage to wear your heart on your sleeve takes courage. Even better, I think that it’s amazing that you love that about yourself. 😀 I love that about you too

Leave a Reply

