Sunscreen? Check. Bikini? Check. Attitude?? Monday Motivation #24

Today is a comfortable sit-in-the-house day.

How do I know? I went outside.

116 degrees.

A miserable, sweltering, melt-your-skin-off temperature.

So I’m sitting in the house and doing what I’ve missed for the past two Mondays: Monday Motivation. 😀

In this heat, all that we can really think to do when we go outside is: find water somewhere and get in it.

This of course means: swimsuits.

And swimsuits sometimes mean concerns over our body.

Body image issues are far more common in today’s society than in past generations and it seems they’re only getting worse.

Why does it seem like when I step into this:

01WearThis

I feel like others will see this:
02feelLikeThis
All I can think of are my baby stretch marks and the cellulite on the back of my thighs.

For some people, donning the swimsuit takes just as much time as getting ready for a night on the town.

  •  Shave – everywhere, being sure the most important parts are silky smooth to the touch and not just “visibly passable”
  •  Lotion everywhere… because god forbid we look ashy or papery in public
  •  Try on all the swimsuits in their wardrobe until they find the one that looks just right TODAY
  •  Hairstyle? Which one accents this suit and the day’s mood?
  •  Apply waterproof eyeliner and mascara – and perhaps a little bronzer
  •  A few pushups to pump up those flabby arms
  •  Find the right accessories: sunglasses, cover up, towel, beach bag. No, we don’t have beaches in Vegas but we do have pools and still need that bag (who ever heard of a “pool bag” anyway)?

By the time these people are ready for the water, they don’t want to get in anyway because it might mess up the look they’ve worked so hard to perfect. And there’s the small issue of the friends and/or family who’ve since distracted themselves in all the time spent waiting that they’re no longer interested in going swimming.

I’ve been the friend who’d now rather watch a movie than head out to go swimming.

I’ve also been the one who tried on four or five different suits and hairstyles before finally settling on something that wasn’t exactly what I wanted but would have to do (and promising myself that I wouldn’t remove my sarong).

Why the madness?

03_swimsuits_final_meI found a picture the other day of me in a swimsuit from a couple summers ago enjoying a barbecue with my family and friends. At first glance, I thought “whoa, I look my age and weight in this one.” I immediately stopped that thought train, recognizing it as the first step on a downward spiral of negative self-talk.

Then I put on my Exalted Peacock glasses and looked at it again:

Happy. Having fun. Smiling. Family and friends all around. No one came that day to see my suit or those thighs. I look happy and loved. That’s precisely what I want to look like.

This week’s heat wave Monday Motivation Message is:

04_working_smlr_final

Look at yourself through the eyes of your friends and loved ones. You will find that you are as beautiful and loved as you ever wanted to be.

If you liked this post, you may also like: Corduroys, People in Pieces, and Could you be Loved (Reggae is perfect for summer) 🙂

Exalted Peacock Logo

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

7 responses to “Sunscreen? Check. Bikini? Check. Attitude?? Monday Motivation #24”

  1. Joseph says :

    We would care a lot less what people think of us, if we realized how little they did. 🙂

  2. Marcy says :

    What an awesome perspective and positive message! And that heat wave–yikes!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Thanks so much, Marcy, for the compliment and for stopping by.

      And yeah, this heat wave is nearly unbearable even for those of us “acclimated” to the desert.

  3. Cheryl Bryant-Rushing says :

    This is a great article! I always tell my clients (and myself), “Nobody is noticing you, they are too busy trying to figure out if you’re noticing them.) I love the little drawing of the body squished into a bikini. Ha ha ha I know how that feels! Summertime (Are you from AZ? I am!) brings on a whole new venue of insecurities. Fatness, Tanness, Glamourness. As if we don’t beat ourselves up enough . . . Thanks for the inspiring post. I was going shopping this week end for a bathing suit. This article changed my perception from dreading it to looking forward to it!

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Cheryl, I am so glad you enjoyed my post I’m in Las Vegas where it’s been over 110 got eight days; at this point there isn’t “sunning yourself” – we are simply baking. Lol. Thanks for stopping by and good luck swimsuit shopping.

  4. Kathy Radigan says :

    I love what you say about looking yourself through the eyes of your loved ones. Thanks for a great perspective! So nice to find your site!

Leave a Reply

