What are you spending your life on? – Monday Motivation #19

Lives are like money, what are you spending yours on?  ~Anon

What are you spending your life on?

As Mother’s Day passes, I’m thinking about how time flies and how I never seem I have enough of it.

How did my children get to be fourteen and twenty?  What have I done with my life thus far and have I truly been living it? If I died tomorrow, looking back from the other side, would I think I spent my time well?

Time is money: such a trite phrase, but what if time were money, how differently would we treat our lives?

Time is Money

What if seconds were pennies, minutes dollars, days were Jacksons, and months Ben Franklins? How would we spend our lives then?

One of my favorite songs is a simple song about money by Pink Floyd and immediately it came to mind when I thought about this week’s theme: Money; and it provides the three things we can do to ensure we are spending and investing wisely.

1. “Money, get away …

Get a job with more pay and you’re OK”

If time were money, one of the first things I would do is try to get more of it.

So, how do I find a way to make more time in today’s hectic day-today?

I think we do it by doing the same thing we do with our finances, we budget.

1. Budget your time.

As a limited resource, ask yourself, am I spending my life in the way that satisfies me most?

Budget the time you spend doing things that MUST be done so that you have more time for the things you LOVE doing.  And what about the things that you simply do habitually?  Does that episode of your favorite reality TV show really fulfill you so fully that the time couldn’t be better spent elsewhere?

2. “Money it’s a gas …

Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash”

The next thing I would do is treat my time with the same sense of having “earned” it as I do with my paychecks, with the same sense of value and maybe even a bit of selfishness or greed in terms of what my time is worth to me and what it should be worth to others.

If there is something or someone stealing your time, particularly when they don’t deserve it as much as other priorities in your life, snatch it back.

2. Take back time that you’ve allowed other activities or persons to steal.

When people or activities take your time without offering anything of value back to you, they are thieves, stealing your precious life.

Seeing it that way changes how much of that we are willing to tolerate.

Wrest your time back from those “life suckers” and apply it to those things that you find more valuable.

3. “Money, get back …

I’m all right, Jack, keep your hands off my stack”

Finally, protect what you have left, especially considering you can’t see the balance in your “bank account.”

3. Protect the life you have left.

People who have had near death experiences, come away forever changed.  They are willing to “trim the fat” and “live life to the fullest” and leave all else by the wayside.

They covet every minute they’ve got because they know that the seconds are worth far more than pennies … some might even say that each day is a full gold bar.

a Day is a Gold Bar

Your time really is your life.

You only have so many minutes to spend in a lifetime … and it’s doled out in annual allotments of five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes (picture me singing happily):

How will you spend your life?

Exalted Peacock Logo

Join the discussion and add in your own thoughts and ideas of how you “spend” your life.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

13 responses to “What are you spending your life on? – Monday Motivation #19”

  1. Jennice says :

    With Mother’s Day and my 24th birthday having just passed, I have asked myself the same questions. I want this year to be different because if I died today,although I know my friends and family would say nice things about me, I don’t feel like I would be satisfied with the life I lived. Thanks for the reflection! I’m visiting you from #SITSsharefest.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      I love that you pointed out the difference between how others see our life as compared to how w would see our own life in hindsight. Wonderfully said. 🙂

  2. Sandra at Thistle Cove Farm says :

    I’m spending my time and life on building an eternity with God, Christ and that great cloud of witnesses gone ahead.

  3. Mariann says :

    This is an excellent way to look at how we’re spending our lives. I just recently told myself that I have to reconfigure my days, to include time in there for myself. We only get one shot at this life and we don’t want to have regrets….or look back I realize that we wasted a lot of time. Wonderful post!
    #SITSGirls

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Having no regrets…exactly. I want to feel like I’m living my life…like the things I have chosen to spend my time on worth good “purchases.” I think making time for yourself is one purchase worth making

  4. misssrobin says :

    I have a time thief in my life right now — my mother. I’m working on reigning this in. It’s killing me. Thanks for the validation.

    I hope you have a lovely weekend. Stopping by from SITS.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Miss Robin,
      When I read what you said, I literally exhaled abruptly at the thought of a family member being a time thief! I completely understand your struggle; family has such a powerful draw on us and can really weigh heavily on our self-esteem, self-image, feelings of guilt and inability (unwillingness?) to fulfill “obligations” (quoted because I think obligations can be subjectively assessed and assigned).
      I’m glad I could validate your feelings and I thank you for bringing that piece of this issue into the discussion.
      Heather

  5. JAC says :

    I think my challenge sometimes the things I am devoting my time to aren’t the things others see as valuable. Why do we feel the need to justify to parents/coworkers/friends, that the things we spend on are worth it? My valuable and yours can be truly different, yet equally as valuable. And while I know most of my time is spent on valuable…I am blessed to have someone in my life to re-ground me and remind me to focus on the good stuff. Speaking of broadway…a trip for two aging beauties to NY city perhaps? Speaking of valuable quality time….

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Your comments are always so well placed. It is so true that we allow others to sort of muscle us into reprioritizing things THEIR way… why the hell do we let that happen?

  6. Kita says :

    I think I would rather have time because it goes by so quickly and so does money they both work hand in hand. We spend time making money and during our time we spend the money great post. Stopping by from SITS

  7. Megan says :

    I love this topic simply because I always laugh and use the response of “time… what is time?!” I have always thought that there was just not enough time in the day or maybe just too many things to get done in a day. This topic really got me thinking who or what truly consumes my time.

    In a recent board interview, I was asked how I felt about education and why it was good as a personal goal. Of course, I said that furthering my education could not only help me at work, but that it was good for individual growth because…. it was healthy as my “me” time. Yes. I just said that going to school was my “me” time. If that doesn’t say a lot about what I consider enjoyable, free time, I don’t know what does.

    Work, school, family drama, finances, etc. The list goes on. I’ve discovered that I have so many time thieves in my life that I can’t even point the finger at just one. Where does it end? How do you cut these essential things out of your life to carve in some true time of your own?

    I was once asked if I lived to work, or worked to live. That question has always resonated with me and I’ve been striving to find the answer ever since. I don’t think anyone truly wants to live to work, but I have watched so many people become that way. If I were monetarily reimbursed for every moment I spent towards the many time thieves in my life, I would be filthy rich.

    I will conclude with this: I can win, earn, lose, and spend money for the rest of my life, but time—that is precious. It is not to be wasted or misused as you can never get it back and it will always move forward, with or without you.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Megan – Thanks so much for your thoughts on this.

      I think we all struggle to decide on priorities when it comes to our time. If I get a manicure and my son doesn’t get a new video game, does that make me a bad mother? I am SUPPOSED to be selfless when it comes to my kids, right? (I actually felt something similar when I recently had pneumonia). If I take a week’s vacation during the same week that a big project is due at work, have I abandoned all the co-workers who also worked on it and will now have to present it without me? If I go to the spa and get a massage when my husband has a softball game, am I failing to be a supportive wife?

      I say the answer to those questions is generally “NO!” NO, no, no. You are as entitled as your son, your co workers, your husband – to take care of yourself and your needs. It doesn’t have to be for personal enrichment (like classes) or because someone else needs you MORE than them (ie leaving your husband to go home because your mother is sick..??? WTH? Why not go home to see her simply because you WANT to?) I think to some extent women struggle more with this than men because our societal and pop culture examples SAY we are supposed to be selfless, that being a good mother and wife and friend MEANS being supportive to the point of becoming invisible.

      After a thirteen year emotionally and verbally abusive relationship, I emerged invisible – completely un-discernible from the background things in my life. At that time, my therapist asked me what I wanted from life – what made me happy. My answers – every single one of them – had to do with someone or something else (children, job, professional success, my sister back home, accomplishing tasks around the house) AND what’s even funnier is that I was super pissed that each answer met with a resounding “that doesn’t answer the question.” I had become so invisible, that I didn’t even have dreams, desires, goals, or joys of my own. It took me weeks to actually contemplate what I REALLY like and I found that it was writing and travel. Over the ensuing series of years, I have added cultures and languages and people and cooking and hiking and camping and (the list goes on but we don’t have enough time).

      If we don’t hold onto ourselves with a deliberately tight grip, we begin to slide down a slippery slope into the pool where no one cares about your needs because you don’t — all the while, you take care of everyone else’s needs. (heavy sigh). This coming Monday, I will actually blog about something like that – the quote (as a preview) is “If you put a really small value on yourself, rest assured, the world will not raise the price.”

  8. Claire says :

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I certainly
    enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

