Self-Love the Irish Way – Monday Motivation #12

Saint Patrick’s Day

So, in case you didn’t know, I write Monday Motivation on Sundays… and today happens to be Saint Patrick’s Day.  That alone seems to be a reason to be happy and feel good.

Leprechaun

I mean the Irish have their own luck doled out to them simply for being Irish!

And “kiss me, I’m Irish” only works if you’re Irish.  No one says “kiss me, I’m American” or “kiss me, I’m British.”

And please – Leprechauns??!!  That has to be the coolest possible national fantasy citizen that there ever could be!  He has magic and lives at the end of rainbows (magic and positive in their own right) AND has a pot of gold.  How much better could life be?

So in the name of the patron Saint of Ireland, Monday Motivation this week is based upon an Irish Proverb that also suits the self-love theme of my Monday.
Irish Proverb

 

May the roof above us never fall in, and may we friends gathered below never fall out. ~Irish Proverb

Proverbial is Literal

Sometimes a proverb is so true that its meaning is also quite literal.

This is one of those times.

“May the roof above us never fall in”

Friendship to me feels so much like a cottage in Ireland (or anywhere for that matter).  Gathering together under one roof and socializing, communing, eating together, living together… all of these activities feel like the warmth and love of friendship.

“…And may we friends gathered below never fall out.”

And the desire to become connected and remain connected is such a real need.  It is so grounding for the soul to maintain friendships, knowing that we are connected and will remain so.  It feels like a warm embrace that is ever-ready, arms wide and smile broad.

So what about self-love?

As always, I come around to self-love, but this one seems so clear and obvious.

The embrace that enduring friendship gives is available all day, every day, everywhere, and any where.

You can give yourself the love that friendship gives you.  You can be your own best friend.

And a lack of self-love would be the falling out that the quote refers to.

And so on this Saint Patrick’s Day, think of self love; ponder your interaction with your inner self and join me in saying:

“May the roof above us never fall in, and may we friends gathered below never fall out.”

Exalted Peacock Logo

What are some things you do to be a good friend to others?  Are there any of those things you can apply to how to treat yourself?

Tags: , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

3 responses to “Self-Love the Irish Way – Monday Motivation #12”

  1. Charlene says :

    A friend recently told me that when in the presence of others, I do my best to make them feel like they are the most important person in the world. It warmed my heart to know I make others feel that way, if I could only make myself feel like that. Maybe I should spend more time alone, lol.

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      I find time alone is sometimes hard. Such a great idea …what a thought. I think how we behave when we are with ourselves is indicative of how much peace we have within ourselves and who we are. Maybe I should spend more time alone too

  2. Savvy Working Gal says :

    Yes, sometimes we need to stop what we are doing and make time for friends. That is exactly what I’ve been doing. Working on my blog can wait for another day. My friends and family need me now.

Leave a Reply

