Could You Be Loved – Monday Motivation #8

The Grammys as in Inspiration? 

Last Sunday’s Grammy Awards had a Bob Marley tribute featuring Ziggy Marley, Bruno Mars, Sting, and Rihanna.

This performance moved me especially at the end when they sang “Could you be loved.”  Love your brother and don’t judge: that’s what I take away from those lyrics – and that message is so beautiful.

There’s one part of the song that goes:

Don’t let them change ya, oh!
Or even rearrange ya! Oh, no!

And when I hear the song, I want to scream that part out.  It makes me so happy to think of being myself and not letting the ubiquitous “them” change me or cause me to think that I am in need of rearranging.

Marley as an Inspiration

Bob Marley

Seeing that performance at the Grammys also reminded me of a Bob Marley quote that I have been meaning to write about:

“If she’s amazing, she won’t be easy.  If she’s easy, she won’t be amazing.  If she’s worth it, you won’t give up.  If you give up, you’re not worthy. … Truth is, everybody is going to hurt you; you just gotta find the ones worth suffering for”

There are so often times when we make ourselves “less amazing” in hopes that someone will like us/won’t leave us. In essence, we make ourselves “easy.”  I have done it: moving boundaries, bending my morals, sacrificing things that are important for me – in hopes that I will be more liked.

Yet, the truth is that people stay when they know the authentic you – not when they have easy access to some half-version of you.  People crave true connectedness and unless you are being true to yourself, they cannot achieve that.

And Bob Marley goes on to say: those that don’t stick around?  It’s because they weren’t worthy of you.  It is not a judgment on your worth.

Those messages are not readily available to us if we aren’t sitting on a solid foundation of self-love; in fact, our self talk refutes them.  Instead, we doubt ourselves and “lower the cost of admission,” so people will like us.

In the end, in life and in Marley’s quote, no matter how much we worry about acceptance and modify ourselves to get it – no matter how much we sacrifice, no matter what we do in life, part of human interaction is that we hurt others and will be hurt by others as well.

So instead of worrying about not being accepted, worry about not giving your soul the chance to shine.

Could you be loved?

I’ll close today as they closed the Bob Marley tribute at the Grammys: asking the question “Could you be loved?”

I love that the song actually asks the question as if implying that we need to give others permission to love us.

But on some level, I think that’s true.

Before we can fully accept that someone else loves us, today, tomorrow, and always; before we believe someone completely when they tell us they love us; before we can revel and dance in their love, we have to first acknowledge that those things are even possible – we must accept that we are lovable.

So today ask yourself this … Could YOU be loved?

Exalted Peacock Logo

Tags: , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

5 responses to “Could You Be Loved – Monday Motivation #8”

  1. nuri says :

    Could I be love? There are days that I feel like I can…..but its on that same day that I look around and wonder who does. Can we really love ourselves so much that no matter how many people don’t, we always will???

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Omg. Reading that comment brought tears to my eyes. Once you feel like you can be loved, you instantly look to affirm that OUTSIDE of you – I do that!! And I believe when I no longer do that then I will know that I have reached a place of genuine self acceptance. So can we love ourselves how matter how many don’t love us? I believe yes!! And that is the space I am working to find and then occupy 🙂

Leave a Reply

