Rules of Humanity – Guest Blog

Today’s guest blog comes from my own fourteen year old son.  He wrote an assignment on youth violence and when he read it aloud, I was so moved that I asked if I could guest blog it; thankfully, he agreed. Enjoy!

Rules of Humanity

Sometimes, I really do feel this world is coming to an end.

We have people killing people because they celebrate a different god or set of gods than them, kids killing kids because they were bullying them and adults who can’t realize that the problem may have been their oh-so-precious children, “no no no, that child was mentally challenged or played too many violent video games.”

PicMonkey Collage600X300forPost

Video games, music and movies aren’t the answer to the problem we face, it takes a special kind of person to take the movies and video games and say “Hey, I could do that” or “Hey, pointing a gun at someone and pulling the trigger will fix my problem.”

Yes, children are impressionable. However, that does not mean that we cannot figure out right from wrong.

file5721298196911_inside_Post375X250The Rules of Humanity – that’s what I call them anyway – they state the primary rule that we all have heard so many times: do unto others as you would have them do unto you. That is the rule that so many children ignore. They forget that and bully others to show that they are the top dog, they make the rules. They don’t put themselves in that kid’s shoes.

The way you parent defines how your children act.

  • If they grow with ridicule, they learn to be shy.
  • If they grow with neglect, they “learn” that they don’t matter.
  • If they grow with violence, they learn to be timid and not stand up for themselves.

That final one is the one that no one realizes. I can tell you from experience that from violence, timidity grows. I was raised with an abusive father. I will tell you right now, I would do anything to not be like him. I know the fear that comes with smashed furniture. As my mother would pick up the pieces she would mutter “It’s okay, baby. Daddy just got a little angry.”

That’s a lie.

I knew it back then. Broken pieces of walls and busted down doors is not a little angry. It’s trying to show someone you’re top dog and what you say goes.

Next time you see another person, not just a child, hit or insult or yell, or scream, or mug another person, stand up! Show those people that the victim is not alone. If you are one of those kids, on the floor, picking up your school papers and binder, tell someone.

The Rules of Humanity show that at least one person will have the caring to help you.

Oh, and if you’re the kid who just threw down that “nerd’s” binder,

Great job. Does that make you feel better?

If so, you are a pathetic human being and should probably start reading the Rules of Humanity you likely set aside so long ago. It will lift you from the cesspool of hatred you have embedded yourself so far in.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

3 responses to “Rules of Humanity – Guest Blog”

  1. nuri says :

    Wow amazing post! I completely agree, it definitely starts in the home! I think the media uses video games and movies as a crutch because its easier to blame out right violent things than seemingly quote on quote normal people who were just brain washed by the big bad violent games. Those people aren’t normal…..that’s why they get brain washed lol. No one with a normal functioning brain reads old batman comics and says to themselves uhmmmm I think ill be a joker, drop out of my masters program, booby trap my house and then go shoot up a movie theater full of people! I don’t blame his parents or the comics…..I just call it sin…

    • Exalted Peacock says :

      Nuri, your comments are so perfectly fitting. I love what you said about someone “normal” dropping out of their master’s degree program to pursue their true calling (surely not that masters program) … a place where shooting up a theater full of movie goers seems acceptable.

  2. Charlene says :

    I think he should be a motivational speaker for students across the states. My favorite part is, “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” — Treat others how you want to be treated. There are so many positives from that statement. Love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

