Live Like Mae West – Monday Motivation #5

Mae West – Fearless

Why Mae West?

I have always had a kind of affinity and respect for Mae West.

I remember quotes like:

  • Why don’t ya come up and see me sometime when I’ve got nothing on but the radio

And

  • Is that a gun in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?

I think I like the quotes because I like the attitude that Mae always carried: 

Completely unapologetic about who she was.

Who can say:

When I’m good, I’m very good, but when I’m bad, I’m better

and still be worrying about what other people think?

I admire that quality about her.

And strive to be as immune to criticism and scrutiny from others as Mae West was.

And yet am I?

Who am I?

Am I fearless in expressing myself?

Am I devout in my love for myself?

Mae also once said:

I don’t like myself – I’m crazy about myself.

Could I ever say that and mean it?

Truth is, this website and my blog as a whole are works in progress, one of many places where I work on precisely those things.

I struggle – like everyone else

  • to find my inner self,
  • to define that person in an image that personally have decided is what I want, and then
  • to steel myself against all comers.

Steeling myself…

I think that last phrase holds a key to my perspective

If I am steeling myself, then I am almost “bracing” for an onslaught. I’m hunkering down in a defensive stance and shielding my “tender bits.”

That defensive posture is probably precisely the problem.

Mae said this (and I think it is my favorite quote):

I wrote the story myself. It’s about a girl who lost her reputation and never missed it.
~Mae West

Clearly she didn’t behave in a way that cow-tows to public opinion or that strives to protect her reputation.

And I love that she doesn’t.  That is exactly the unapologetic nature of self-esteem and confidence that I want to feel.

When I am steeling against something/someone, I’m:

  • concerned about them,
  • on-the-look-out for them,
  • allowing them to remain within my thought process, remain a consideration.

Drop the shield…

To give no thought to the “onslaught” or to “all comers”

To live as if they don’t exist…

or better yet, as if they don’t matter —

That’s my new goal.

I don’t think I can strive to be an Exalted Peacock and not work toward that end.

So then,
fearlessly,
carefree,
Wearing what I feel like, when I feel like it.
Saying how I feel and not awaiting the reaction from others.
Being who I am and loving “who I be”

Yep, I think those things should make it to a paper –

posted on my mirror in my bathroom…

So that I can remind myself to live every day that way

After all,

“You only live once but if you do it right, once is enough” ~Mae West

Tags: , , , , , ,

About ExaltedPeacock

Finding cool new things each day to love about me & those around me. Everyone is peacock beautiful. Celebrate it!

3 responses to “Live Like Mae West – Monday Motivation #5”

  1. Charlene says :

    Reading this week’s motivation is helping me keep my New Year’s Resolutions for this year. At first I wasn’t going to make any, because, really — eat healthier, workout more, stay more organized, those should daily life goals … not New Year’s Resolutions. Then after a couple of weeks, I was like, you know what — this year, my goal is to be more positive and complain less. And, by golly, Mae West and Exalted Peacock are the perfect outlets to keep those on track. — “You only live once but if you do it right, once is enough” ~Mae West < Definitely my favorite.

  2. meggan says :

    Thanks for some self love inspiration! Stopping in from SITS.

Leave a Reply

